Central African Republic


Official Name:

République Centrafricaine

French abbreviation: RCA

Sango: Ködörösêse tî Bêafrîka

int’l form: Central African Republic

formerly: Ubangi-Shari, Central African Empire

English abbreviation: CAR


ISO Country Code: cf



Local Time = UTC +1h



Country Calling Code: +236


Currency: Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XAF)


Capital City: Bangui (pop. 700 000)


Other Cities: Berberati, Bouar, Bambari, Bangassou, Bossangoa, Mbaiki, and Carnot.




Type: Republic.

Independence: 13 August 1960 (from France).



Location: landlocked country in Central Africa, almost the precise center of Africa.

Area: 623,000 km² (242,000 sq. mi.)

Terrain: Rolling plain 600 meters-700 meters (1,980 ft.-2,310 ft.) above sea level; scattered hills in northeast and southwes, mainly savannah in the north and equatorial forest in the south. The Oubangui river, which forms the southern border and flows through the capital Bangui and then south to the Congo basin, is an important transport route.


Climate: Tropical, ranging from humid equatorial in the south to Sahelo-Sudanese in the north; hot, dry winters with mild to hot, wet summers.



Nationality: Central African(s).

Population: 5 million (2011 UN est.)

Ethnic groups: More than 80; Baya 33%, Banda 27%, Sara 10%, Mandja 13%, Mboum 7%, M’baka 4%, Yakoma 4%, other 2%.

Religions: Protestant 25%, Roman Catholic 25%, Muslim 15%, indigenous beliefs 35%.

Languages: French (official), Sangho (national).

Literacy: 50%

Natural resources: Diamonds, uranium, timber, gold, oil.


Agriculture products: Timber, cotton, coffee, tobacco, foodcrops, livestock.


Industries: Diamond mining, sawmills, breweries, textiles.


Exports partners: Belgium 39.6%, Italy 8.7%, Spain 8%, USA 6.2%, France 6.1%, Indonesia 5.9%, China 4.9% (2004)


Imports partners: France 17.6%, USA 16.3%, Cameroon 9.3%, Belgium 5% (2004)