Official Name:
Al Mamlakah al-Maghribiyah
short form: Arabic: المغرب‎, al-Maġrib
int’l long form: Kingdom of Morocco
int’l short form: Morocco

ISO Country Code: ma

Local Time = UTC +0h (no UTC/GMT offset)

Country Calling Code: +212

Capital City: Rabat

Other Cities: Agadir, Casablanca, Fez, Marrakech, Meknes, Tangier (Tanger), Tetouan

Type: Constitutional Monarchy.
Independence: 2 March 1956 (from France).

Location: Northern Africa, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea.
Area: 446,550 km² (172,413 sq. mi.)
(The disputed territory of Western Sahara comprises another 267,000 km² or 102,700 sq. mi.).
Terrain: Coastal plains, mountains, desert.

Climate: Mediterranean, more extreme in the interior.

Nationality: Moroccan(s).
Population: 32.5 million (2012)
GNI per capita PPP: $ 4 444 (year)
Ethnic groups: Arab, Berber, mixed Arab-Berber.
Religions: Muslim
Languages: Arabic (official), several Berber dialects; French, usually the language of business, government, and diplomacy.
Literacy: 52%

Natural resources: Phosphates, iron ore, manganese, lead, zinc, fish, salt.

Agriculture products: Barley, wheat, citrus, wine, vegetables, olives; livestock.

Industries: Phosphate rock mining and processing, food processing, leather goods, textiles, construction, tourism.

Currency: Moroccan Dirham (MAD)

 Morocco in Figures
Morocco key statistical data.

Morocco’s long struggle for independence from France ended in 1956. The internationalized city of Tangier was turned over to the new country that same year.
Morocco virtually annexed Western Sahara during the late 1970s, but final resolution on the status of the territory remains unresolved.
Gradual political reforms in the 1990s resulted in the establishment of a bicameral legislature in 1997.

Morocco is a member state of the League of Arab States
border countries: Algeria, (Mauritania) Western Sahara, Spain
related countries: France