Official Name:
Republique du Niger
short form: Niger
int’l long form: Republic of Niger

ISO Country Code: ne

Local Time = UTC +1h

Country Calling Code: +227

Capital City: Niamey (pop. approx. 675 000)

Other Cities: Tahoua, Maradi, Zinder, Diffa, Dosso, Arlit, and Agadez.

Type:  Republic, multiparty Presidential regime.
Head of State: President Mamadou Tandja
Independence: 3 August 1960 (from France).

Location: Western Africa, southeast of Algeria.
Area: 1,267,000 km² (490,000 sq. mi.).
Terrain: About two-thirds desert and mountains, one-third savanna.

Climate: Hot, dry, and dusty; tropical in extreme south. Rainy season June – September.

Nationality: Nigerien(s).
Population 11.5 million.
Ethnic groups: Hausa 56%, Djerma 22%, Fula 8.5%, Tuareg 8%, Beri Beri (Kanuri) 4.3%; Arab, Toubou, and Gourmantche 1.2%.
Religions: Islam (95%); remainder indigenous beliefs and Christian.
Languages: French (official), Hausa, Djerma, Fulfulde, Kanuri, Tamachek, Toubou, Gourmantche, Arabic.
Literacy: 15-30%

Natural resources: Uranium, coal, iron ore, tin, phosphates, gold, petroleum.

Agriculture products: Millet, sorghum, rice, corn, fruits, vegetables, cotton, peanuts, cassava, cowpeas.

Industries: Uranium mining, cement, brick, textiles, food processing, chemicals .

Currency: CFA Franc (XOF)

 Niger in Figures
More Niger related statistical data.

Source: Embassy of Niger, Canada and others.
Despite the fact that the country has some of the world’s largest uranium deposits, Niger is one of the poorest countries in the world, a landlocked Sub-Saharan nation, whose economy centers on subsistence crops and livestock.
Niger suffered austere military rule for much of its post-independence history. Not until 1993, 33 years after independence from France, did Niger hold its first free and open elections. A 1995 peace accord ended a five-year revolt by Tuareg tribes, who accused the government of failing to deliver on promised economic aid. Coups in 1996 and 1999 were followed by the creation of a National Reconciliation Council that effected a transition to civilian rule in December 1999.

related countries: France

border countries: Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Libya, Mali, Nigeria