Official Name:
République du Sénégal
conventional long form: Republic of Senegal
conventional short form: Senegal

ISO Country Code: sn
Local Time = UTC +0h

Country Calling Code: +221

Capital City: Dakar
Mairie de Dakar – the city of Dakar.

Other Cities: 
Diourbel, Kolda, Kaolack, Louga,
Saint-Louis, Thies, Tambacounda, Ziguinchor.

Type: Republic.
Independence: 4 April 1960 (from France).

Location: Western Africa, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Guinea-Bissau and Mauritania.
Area: 196,722 km² (76,000 sq. mi.)
Terrain: Flat or rising to foothills.

Climate: Tropical Sahelian desert or grasslands in the north, more vegetation in the south and southeast.

Nationality: Senegalese (sing. and pl.)
Population: 12.9 million (2011)
Ethnic groups: Wolof 43%; Pular (Fulani, Peulh) and Toucouleur 23%; Serer 15%; Diola (Jola) 3.7%, Mandingo (Mandinka) 3%, Soninke 1.1%, and others 19%.
Religions: Muslim 95%, Christian 4%, traditional 1%.
Languages: French (official), Wolof, Pulaar, Serer, Diola, Mandingo, Soninke.
Literacy: 38%.

Natural resources: Fish, peanuts, phosphate, iron ore, gold, titanium.

Agriculture products: Peanuts, millet, corn, sorghum, rice, cotton, tomatoes, green vegetables; cattle, poultry, pigs; fish

Industries: Agricultural and fish processing, phosphate mining, fertilizer production, petroleum refining, construction materials.

Exports partners: India 13%, France 12.2%, Mali9.5%, Italy 8.5%, Cote d’Ivoire 5.4%, Spain 5% (2003)

Imports partners: France 24.9%, Nigeria 12.2%,Thailand 6.7%, Spain 4.3% (2003)

Currency: CFA Franc BCEAO (XOF).

Independent from France in 1960, Senegal joined with The Gambia to form the nominal confederation of Senegambia in 1982. However, the envisaged integration of the two countries was never carried out, and the union was dissolved in 1989. Despite peace talks, a southern separatist group sporadically has clashed with government forces since 1982. Senegal has a long history of participating in international peacekeeping.
(Source: CIA – The World Factbook)

border countries: The Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania

related countries: France