Official Name:
Creole: Repiblik Sesel
English: Republic of Seychelles
French: République des Seychelles

ISO Country Code: sc
Time Zone: SCT – Seychelles Times
Local Time = UTC +4h

Country Calling Code: +248

Capital City: Victoria (pop. 24 500)

Type: Multiple-party republic.
Independence: June 29, 1976 (from UK).

Location: Eastern Africa, group of about 115 islands scattered over 1.3 million square kilometers of the western Indian Ocean, northeast of Madagascar.
Area: 455 km² (176 sq km)
Major Islands: Mahe, Praslin and La Digue.
Terrain: About half of the islands are of granitic origin, with narrow coastal strips and central ranges of hills rising to more than 900 m; highest point: Morne Seychellois at 905 m.
The other half are coral atolls, many uninhabitable.

Climate: Tropical marine; humid; cooler season during southeast monsoon (late May to September); warmer season during northwest monsoon (March to May) .

Nationality: Noun and adjective–Seychellois.
Population 91,000 (2010 census)
Ethnic groups: Creole (European, Asian, and African).
Religions: Catholic 86.6%, Anglican Church 6.8%, other Christians 2.5%, other 4.1%.
Languages: Official languages are Seychelles Creole (kreol seselwa), English, and French.
Literacy: between 60-80%.

Natural resources: Fish, copra, cinnamon trees.

Agriculture products: Coconuts, cinnamon, vanilla, sweet potatoes, cassava (tapioca), bananas; broiler chickens; tuna fish.

Industries: Fishing; tourism; processing of coconuts and vanilla, coir (coconut fiber) rope, boat building, printing, furniture; beverages.

Exports partners: UK 38.8%, France 31.8%,Italy 14.5%, Germany 7.5% (2003)

Imports partners: Saudi Arabia 15.7%, South Africa 10.9%, Spain 10.4%, France 9.7%, Italy9.2%, Singapore 7%, UK 6.8% (2003)

Currency: Seychelles Rupee (SCR)

Some say that the uninhabited islands of Seychelles were sighted by Vasco de Gama in 1502, however recorded landings did not occur until 1609. In 1756 the French made a formal claim to the islands.
Settlement began in 1778 under a French military administration but barely survived its first decade.
A lengthy struggle between France and Great Britain for the islands ended in 1814, when they were ceded to the latter. Seychelles and Mauritius were given to England by the Treaty of Paris in 1814.
During the 19th century, chinese and indian tradesmen, together with former slaves settled in the island. They founded their own colony seperated from the Crown in 1903.
Seychelles became independant and members of the Commonwealth in 1976
Socialist rule was brought to a close with a new constitution and free elections in 1993. .
(Source: various sources)

related countries: France, Madagascar, Mauritius, United Kingdom