Official Name:
Umbuso weSwatini
short form: eSwatini
int’l long form: Kingdom of Swaziland
int’l short form: Swaziland

ISO Country Code: sz

Local Time = UTC +2h

Country Calling Code: +268

Capital City: Mbabane (capital, pop. 60 000)
Lobamba (the royal and legislative capital)

Other Cities: Manzini (principal commercial city)

Type: Monarchy
Independence: 6 September 1968 (from UK)
Constitution: the first constitution was signed into law in July 2005 and is scheduled to be implemented in January 2006.

Location: Landlocked, in East Southern Africa, almost completely surrounded by South Africa.
Area: 17,364 km² (6,704 sq. miles).
Terrain: Mountainous plateau to savanna.
Highest point: Emlembe 1 862 m

Climate: Wet summers, dry winters, from near temperate to sub-tropical and tropical (the seasons are the reverse of those in the Northern Hemisphere).

Nationality: Swazi(s).
Population (2004): 1.1 million.
Ethnic Groups: Swazis 97%, European 3%.
Religion (est:): 35% Protestant, 30% Zionist (indigenous), 25% Roman Catholic, 1% Islamic, with the remaining 9% divided among other beliefs.
Official Languages: siSwazi and English.
Literacy: 76.7%.

Natural resources: Asbestos, coal, clay, cassiterite, hydropower, forests, small gold and diamond deposits, quarry stone, and talc.

Agriculture products: Sugarcane, cotton, maize, rice, citrus, pineapples, sorghum, peanuts, cattle.

Industries: Mining (coal, raw asbestos), textiles, wood pulp, sugar, soft drink concentrates.

Exports partners: South Africa 65%, EU 12%,Mozambique 11%, USA 5% (2004)

Imports partners: South Africa 84%, EU 5%,Japan 2%, Singapore 2% (2004)

Currency: Emalangeni (SZL)

Autonomy for the Swazis of southern Africa was guaranteed by the British in the late 19th century; independence was granted 1968.
Student and labor unrest during the 1990s have pressured the monarchy (one of the oldest on the continent) to grudgingly allow political reform and greater democracy.
(Source: CIA – The World Factbook)

border countries: Mozambique, South Africa

related countries: United Kingdom

The flag of Swaziland was adopted on October 1, 1968.

The red stands for past battles, the blue for peace and stability, and the yellow for the resources of Swaziland. The central focus of the flag is ashield and two spears, symbolizing protection from the country’s enemies. Its colour is meant to show that white and black people live in peaceful coexistence in Swaziland. The flag is based on one given by King Sobhuza II to the Swazi Pioneer Corps in 1941. On it is an Emasotsha shield, laid horizontally. The shield is reinforced by a staff from which hangs injobotassels-bunches of feathers of the widowbird and the lourie. They also decorate the shield. Above the staff are two assegais-local spears.