Official Name:
République Togolaise
short form: Togo
int’l long form: Republic of Togo
int’l short form: Togo
formerly: French Togoland

ISO Country Code: tg

Local Time = UTC No UTC/GMT offset

Country Calling Code: +228

Capital City: Lomé

Other Cities: 
Atakpamé, Kpalimé, Sokodé, Kara.

Type: Republic since years under transition to multiparty democratic rule.

Location: Western Africa, bordering the Bight of Benin, between Benin and Ghana.
Area: 56,785 km² (21,925 sq miles).
Terrain: Gently rolling savanna in north; central hills; southern plateau; low coastal plain with extensive lagoons and marshes.

Climate: Tropical; hot throughout the year, humid in south; semiarid in north.

Nationality: Togolese.
Population: 6.2 million (2010)
Ethnic Groups: native African (37 tribes; largest and most important are Ewe, Mina, and Kabre) 99%, European and Syrian-Lebanese less than 1%.
Religions: traditional African religions 51%, Christian 30%, Muslim 15%.
Languages: French (official and the language of commerce), Ewe and Mina (the two major African languages in the south), Kabye (sometimes spelled Kabiye) and Dagomba (the two major African languages in the north).
Literacy: male: 75.4%, female: 46.9%

Natural resources: Phosphates (main source of foreign exchange), limestone, marble, arable land.

Agriculture products: Coffee, cocoa, cotton, yams, cassava (tapioca), corn, beans, rice, millet, sorghum; livestock; fish.

Industries: Phosphate mining, agricultural processing, cement; handicrafts, textiles, beverages.

Exports partners: Burkina Faso16.6%, Ghana15.4%, Netherlands 13%, Benin 9.6%, Mali 7.7% (2003)

Imports partners: France 21.1%, Netherlands12.1%, Cote d’Ivoire 5.9%, Germany 4.6%, Italy4.4%, South Africa 4.3%, China 4.1% (2003)

Currency: CFA Franc (Communaute Financiere Africaine) (XOF)

The thin strip of land in Western Africa is bordering Ghana to the west, Benin to the East, Burkina Faso to the North and its narrow coastline strenches onto the Gulf of Guinea in the South.
Togoland, of which modern Togo was formerly a part, was colonised by the Germans in 1894. The German occupation has been ended by a joint Anglo-French force early in the First World War. In 1960 French Togoland became Togo.
Gen. Gnassingbé EYADÉMA, installed as military ruler in 1967, continued to rule well into the 21st century. Despite the facade of multiparty elections instituted in the early 1990s, the government continued to be dominated by President EYADÉMA until his death in February 2005. In contravention of the nation’s constitution he was succeeded by his son Faure GNASSINGBÉ backed by the armed forces.
Under strong international pressure Mr Faure stepped down and called an election.
After Faure Gnassingbé was declared winner of a disputed election deadly street battles between opposition protesters and security forces raged and thousands of people are fleeing Togo in fear of their lives.
The opposition candidate in the election, Emmanuel AKITANI BOB, refused to concede defeat despite the announcement of the official results and instead declared himself president. In a live address to the nation, interim president Abbas BONFOH dubbed the self-proclamation “as pure fantasy, null and void.”

border countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Ghana

related countries: Germany, France, United Kingdom